> Thought you all might find this amusing. About 5 years ago I once registered
foxpro.org and hosted the site. My whole goal was to create a forum based community for sharing FP information much like this one. Within about 2 months I got a cease and desist document from the M$ lawyers. I immediately emailed them and explained that it was a site to promote VFP and VFP products. I even placed "FoxPro is a registered trademark of the Microsoft Corp." all over the site. They would only reply with cease and desist. I asked them to then explain why I could not make a non-profit community forum site that promotes one of their products, their answer, "Cease and desist."
>
> I did not want to get into any kinda of legal battle so I transferred the domain to them. But I did tell them how disappointed I was and that I would be making many people aware of their cold responses to me. Of course I got no response to that.
>
> So even though most of my programming is still in VFP I have also started to learn quite a bit about Linux, PHP4 and MySQL. If M$ has been a little more considerate most of my clients would still be on Windows servers instead of Linux servers.
>
> Don't get me wrong, I like VFP but I'm no fan of M$.
I understand your feeling. I am not a legal expert but I think the MS lawyers are correct in this case. You registered a domain called
foxpro.org and that would be pretty much the same as if I'd register a domain like
www.bentley.org or
www.microsoft.org or
www.symantec.org or
www.cocacola.org. I mean: these are registered trademarks. Can you tell a bit more about what they wrote in their letter?
I looked up the whois info for
foxpro.org at
http://www.networksolutions.com/cgi-bin/whois/whois and the domain is still registered to the Fox Team in Redmond.
--
Eric den Doop
www.foxite.com - The Home Of The Visual FoxPro Experts